Inauguration Committee

Representing diverse audiences of the greater Rice community, the Inauguration Committee is charged with the planning and execution of the investiture of Reginald DesRoches as the eighth president of Rice University. Through a series of community-building events for Rice stakeholders, the inauguration weekend will introduce President and Mrs. DesRoches to Rice, Houston, national and international partners, while affirming Rice’s commitment to leadership in higher education.


Name Title
Elle Anderson ’00 Rice Board of Trustees
Fred Oswald Chief Marshal; Herbert S. Autrey Professor of Psychology; Professor, Jones Graduate School of Business
Gloria Tarpley ’81 Rice Board of Trustees
Robert T. Ladd ’78 Chair, Rice Board of Trustees; ex-officio


Name Title
Toya Bell ’87 President, Association of Rice Alumni Board
John Boles ’65 William P. Hobby Professor Emeritus
Donald Bowers ’90 Rice Board of Trustees Emeritus
Alexander Byrd ’90 Vice Provost for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion; Associate Professor of History
Kathi Dantley Warren Vice President for Development & Alumni Relations
Gabrielle Franklin ’24 President, Student Association
Hollie Fulsom Evans Campus Event Manager
Karen George ’77 Rice Board of Trustees Emeritus
Randal Hall ’97 William P. Hobby Professor of American History
Kathy Jones Associate Vice President, Facilities Engineering & Planning
Melissa Kean ’96 Rice Centennial Historian, Retired
Matthew Loden Lynette S. Autrey Dean of Music
H. Malcom Lovett, Jr. ’67 Rice University Volunteer
Sara Lowman Vice Provost & University Librarian
Greg Marshall ’86 Director, University Relations
Kathy Matthews Stewart Memorial Professor Emeritus
Mary McIntire ’75 Board Member, Association of Rice Alumni
Susan McIntosh Herbert S. Autrey Professor of Anthropology
Joshua Moore ’23 President, Graduate Student Association
Kelly Quin Assistant Vice President, Campaign and Constituent Strategy
Clemente Rodriguez Chief of Police; Director, Public Safety
Monique Shankle ’86 Immediate Past-President, Association of Rice Alumni Board
Linda Thrane Vice President for Public Affairs
Cyndi Wilson Deputy Secretary to the Board of Trustees
Scott Wise ’71 Rice Board of Trustees Emeritus